top of page

Surfs Up

Based on the title, you guessed it, I went surfing for the first time. Was I scared, man I was terrified before I even went in the water. I don't really think I was scared of the surfing in general, I was terrified of what was in the water. There may be sharks, sting rays, jelly fish, who knows (p.s. swimming with fish in unknown waters is my biggest fear). Well I had some great people who were there to help me get that out of my head. <thanks Morgan, Christie & Jae> To be quite honest, once I got in the water I only thought about fish I think twice of that time. So thanks to the encouragement of these guys and help from Morgan being a great teacher I started out. And to put in perspective, this was also my first time in the ocean with actual waves but a big thanks goes out to Noah's Ark Waterpark's wave pool for preparing me for this my whole life ;). Anyways, catching the waves was a bit tricky, but it was more tricky trying to walk out into the deeper water while the waves plowed the board over your face, it wasn't that bad. But no I did not stand up right away but rode on my knees the first few waves to get the feel of it. After braving it I did end up standing up, no not perfectly, but I did get it. My favorite wave was the last one where Christie & I caught the same wave next to each other, both ended up riding it on our knees in sync right next to each other and high fived on the way out. Big deal right, well humans, this was where we had to quickly learn how to steer being within a foot next to each other so it was a grand accomplishment. 10/10 would do it again & I will. This was also my first time at a black sand beach, which was nothing less than amazing.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page